Byron Miller, SRA, AI-RRS, RAA, MSSE, appointed to AQB.

This appointment was done on October 2, 2020 during The Appraisal Foundation meeting and will be for a two year term starting January 1, 2021.  The Appraiser Qualifications Board (AQB),  Under the provisions of Title XI of the Financial Institutions Reform, Recovery and Enforcement Act of 1989 (FIRREA), establishes the Real Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria (Criteria), or the minimum education, experience, and examination requirements for real property appraisers to obtain a state certification.

The AQB also establishes Personal Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria, or the minimum education, experience, and examination requirements for sponsoring membership organizations of The Appraisal Foundation who confer personal property designations. In addition, the AQB performs a number of ancillary duties related to real property and personal property appraiser qualifications.

The AQB is composed of five to nine members who are appointed by the BOT and may serve up to eight years.  Activities of the Board are directed by the Chair, who is appointed by the BOT for a one-year term.

The North Star Chapter wins the Government Relations Committee Award for 2019!  Congratulations to the Committee on all its hard work!

This award is presented to the most active or innovative chapter or region in state relations in 2019. Activities may include but are not limited to: 1) support of state legislative and regulatory issues; 2) campaign work in support of candidates for elected office; and 3) grassroots lobbying efforts.  Submissions for the State Government Relations Award will be scored on the following criteria:

  • Degree of demonstration of support of legislative and regulatory issues.
  • Evidence or description of campaign work.
  • Evidence or description of grassroots lobbying efforts.
  • Evidence of outcomes achieved.
  • Quality of essay.

The Honorary Award recognizes one or more Chapter members for their outstanding service, dedication, and commitment to the Chapter throughout the year. The Chapter President (in consultation with the Board of Directors) selects the recipient(s) who have gone above and beyond to contribute to helping the Chapter membership and ultimately the whole organization grow and flourish.

Honorary Awards Recipients

Christine Mackaman, MAI, AI-GRS

Brett Hall, MAI, SRA

Byron Miller, SRA, AI-RRS

Jason Messner, MAI

Brian Gatzke and Steven Shaykett, MAI

Kurt Ophus, MAI

Daniel Boris, MAI, SRA

Raymond Vandeveer, SRA

William Ruff and Everett Strand, MAI

The Instructors:
Richard DuBay, SRPA, SRA
Craig Harrington, SRA, AI-RRS
Alan Hummel, SRA

Charles Springer, MAI, SRA

Harvey Swenson, MAI, SRA

Maurie Wagner

Stuart Mortrude, MAI

Jason and Dave Mass

Marc Knoche, MAI

Robert Lunz, MAI, and Timothy Mardell, MAI

Berge Hansen, MAI, and JoAnn Hansen, MAI